r/signal • u/Any_Session5449 • 5d ago
Solved Syncing issue on Windows Desktop App
I recently upgraded my phone (Android S21 to S25), which desync'd my Desktop App. The method I used was phone-to-phone transfer instead of using a backup or Signal Secure Backups (which is itself also enabled - specifically PAID version)
Upon reinstalling the desktop app, and then linking the desktop app, the syncing hits what appears to be the 1 month time period for media and then pauses further syncing unless manually prompted for each image/file/other (in which case it fetches).
I have tested this method 3 times, and it never used to be the case when you reinstalled the Desktop App version. I do not wish to manually click images, for many reasons
I am assuming it may be an issue with Signal Secure Backups (cloud)?
Is there a way to purge the cloud of media files, and re-upload?
EDIT:
The fix involved wiping the Signal Secure Backups, backing up again, then linking to a fresh install of Signal Desktop App. I assume this would not have been an issue should I have restored/transferred from Signal Secure Backups instead of the old phone.
Please consider implementing a fix for this, Signal :D
2
u/convenience_store Top Contributor 4d ago
From my understanding, the behavior you describe (where it downloads the text and accesses the last 45 days of media, but then makes later media available on demand) is what's available to everyone, but since you also pay for cloud backups I'm pretty sure it should sync all media from your cloud backup. I haven't linked a desktop app in a long time but I have linked an android app recently and I'm pretty sure that's how it worked (and I also use the paid tier of cloud backups).
When you say it "pauses further syncing" what happens? My expectation would be that the "Syncing media" progress circle in your first image would eventually reach 4.5GB as it restores from the cloud and then you'd have all the media. Does that message change or does it just stall? How long have you given it to continue on its own before erasing and retrying again?
1
u/Any_Session5449 4d ago edited 4d ago
When I say "pauses further syncing", the 'Syncing media' just sits idle on ~35MB, or only progresses when I click on an file as shown in image 2. And when I say progresses, only the addition amount that file adds, then pauses again. It does not say 'paused' or anything, just doesn't move.
I did hit the 'pause' button, and then 'resume' (not shown, but its slightly to the right of image 1 shown), but that has no impact on the progression either.
I am attempting a purge of the Signal Secure Backups to see if its some kind of indexing thing on the server side (beyond that I am ignorant). I hoped to avoid this, but there appears no other option. I will update here and in main post.
Edit ----- fix in main post now


1
u/p5jDTSUZnxys2mJVzX 5d ago
There's a giant "turn off and delete backup" button in red text in the cloud backup settings.